Alternative rock quintet Psyence release their second album ‘Lessons In Forgetting Everything (L.I.F.E)’ on 30th September 2022, succeeding their latest single ‘Nobody Understands’.

Written during lockdown, the 10-track new album traverses alternative rock and electronica with huge guitar riffs, soaring melodies and twisted stories about dysfunctional relationships, love and male mental health. The album was preceded by the singles ‘Domino’, ‘So High’ and ‘Sugar Sweet” and ‘Nobody Understands’

Says Psyence about the new album:

“Our sophomore album is finally here, we’ve spent a lot of time cooped up in the lab over the past two years working on this. Titled, “Lessons In Forgetting Everything” or “L.I.F.E”, depending on which way you want to look at it, it’s a tale of maturity, mental anguish and an ever growing need to break the mould and get away. LIFE IS NOT AN EXACT PSYENCE, but we think our second album comes close to representing who we are and what has happened in our lives in the last couple of years”

The album opens up with the atmospheric and energetic ‘Domino’, the pace of the track building up and dropping down into a distorted oblivion- the perfect welcome into the sonic realm that Psyence has created.

‘So High’ merges melodic prowess with a wave of retro synth sounds, giving a dose of euphoria and futuristic soundscapes with toplines reminiscent of the likes of Led Zeppelin.

The band show that they aren’t afraid of groovy nods on ‘Sugar Sweet’, with squealing synths and a more stripped back approach tinting their alt-rock noise with almost tropical, pop melodies.

‘Warpaint’ sees the hazy, all-encompassing sound that we know and love return, before ‘Brighter Days’ brings a psychedelic, optimistic tone with delectable stacked harmonies that finishes this meandering and infectious album on an irresistible high.

L.I.F.E (Lessons in Forgetting Everything) album track-listing:

  1. Domino
  2. So High
  3. Go It Alone
  4. Sugar Sweet
  5. Nobody Understands
  6. Wonderview Avenue
  7. Houston
  8. Don’t Fear The Rapture
  9. Warpaint
  10. Brighter Days

The album is available on vinyl and digipack CD as well as via all digital platforms.