Protest the Hero unveil first single, “The Canary“, from their upcoming much-anticipated new studio album, PALIMPSEST, released via Spinefarm Records on June 19th, 2020.

The single, named after Amelia Earhart‘s bright yellow bi-plane, is inspired by the American aviation pioneer, who was the first female flyer to cross the Atlantic solo.

Palimpsest  features 10 new tracks and is the first music from the Canadian outfit since Pacific Myth in 2016.

A pre-order is available as of today HERE.


While Protest the Hero‘s last effort was a project designed to limit the band’s “over-thinking of every detail”, Palimpsest is surely the opposite. Each idea on this new record had to fight for its place, right down to the final sequencing of the songs. Endless discussions were had over minutiae, but the devil has always been in the detail for PTH. So, while the song-writing, recording and release process was all new for these songs, the final product definitely feels like home to the band. However, there were definitely some obstacles to overcome along the way.

Says guitarist Luke Hoskin, “Palimpsest is by far the most challenging record we have worked on. The writing and recording process saw so many delays, it’s honestly hard to keep them straight. We are very proud of how each hurdle was handled though, and the end result is a record that we believe is deserving of such an endeavour.”

“This record was extremely difficult for me personally,” shares frontman Rody Walker. “With my first child on the way, I built a studio in my basement to ensure I wasn’t leaving my wife alone with a new child for weeks on end. I haven’t left my house since. What made it most difficult was the change in my voice. During our final tour, just before we were set to start recording, I blew my voice out, and it didn’t come back. I spent a long time fighting with it trying to bounce back and failing. Finally, through coaching and rehearsal, I got it back into shape. For the first time in my life, singing felt like an actual job and I’m still pissed about it. I have never worked harder to put out music in my life and I am extremely proud of the product.”

Protest the Hero have released five full length albums and have toured the world over. Hailing originally from Whitby, ON, the band consists of four core members – Rody Walker (vox), Luke Hoskin (lead guitar/vox), Tim MacMillar (guitar/vox) and Michael Ieradi (drums). Known for being progressive not only in their sound but in their music business acumen, the musicians have always prided themselves on approaching their craft differently than the rest of the pack, and Palimpsest sees them further honing their collective skills to truly telling effect.


  1. The Migrant Mother
  2. The Canary
  3. From the Sky
  4. All Hands
  5. The Fireside
  6. Soliloquy
  7. Reverie
  8. Little Snakes
  9. Gardenias
  10. Rivet

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day