Mercurial Bristol quartet Phoxjaw have released their new single/video ‘sungazer’, their first new material since 2020’s acclaimed debut LP Royal Swan

Watch the video:

Phoxjaw comment:

“The sun is quite literally gonna burn us all one day, you can take that in two directions, a super nihilistic view on things served with a smile, or as an opportunity to hold the things you love close and cherish them. With very pagan-esque themes, the bouncing and upbeat track takes bi-polar twists and turns into something darker and heavier, whilst still preserving the same chaotic Phoxjaw energy presented on previous releases. We hope this track digs deep into your brain and burns out your eyes.”

‘sungazer’ is signature Phoxjaw – eclectic, irreverent, titanically heavy and endlessly inventive. Written in various states of lockdown, the new track is an insight into Phoxjaw‘s future mindset – combining progressive, punishing sonics with hyper-glossy pop influences. Depression, nihilism, nostalgia and suffering, all served in a sugary cone.

The new single follows a triumphant period for Phoxjaw, including their debut Download appearance. Previous tours with LoathePaganBlack Peaks and more and reams of press support have rightly earmarked this one-of-a-kind quartet as ones to watch.

Watch the band perform the main stage of 2000trees Thursday 7th July, and supporting Blood Command on the following dates:

04 England, Brighton, Washed Out Festival
06 England, London, Camden Assembly
07 England, Bristol, Exchange
08 Scotland, Glasgow, Stereo

09 England, Manchester, Deaf Institute
13 Germany, Hamburg, Goldener Salon
14 Germany, Cologne, Blue Shell
15 Germany, Munich, Orangehouse
16 Germany, Berlin, Badehaus

Phoxjaw are:

Danny Garland – vocals/bass
Josh Gallop – guitar/keys
Kieran Gallop – drums
Alexander Share – guitar/vocals

For more information: