Little Rock, Arkansas-based ruminant progressive doom quartet, Pallbearer, recently premiered a brand new track entitled ‘Dropout’ as the 53rd instalment of the Adult Swim Singles Program. The song, which is available digitally today, represents a subtle expansion of the singular doom-prog metal sound the Arkansas outfit is known for.

To coincide with this release, the band have also made an accompanying mini doc available which gives a behind the scenes look at the recording of ‘Dropout’ – recorded at Fellowship Hall Sound in Little Rock, Arkansas. Check it out here:


Comments the band on the single: “We have almost always written music intended to exist as part of an album, with common musical and lyrical threads that tie many elements together into one release. Being freed from those confines in recording this song allowed us to explore themes and immediacy that might not have been uncovered in our more typical “large format” composition process.”

Download and stream ‘Dropout’ now!

“Dropout” follows the band’s 2017 critically acclaimed album Heartless which was recorded entirely to analogue tape at Fellowship Hall Sound, Little Rock, Arkansas between June and August 2016. The record was produced by Pallbearer, and mixed by widely known producer Joe Barresi (Tool, The Melvins, QOTSA, Fu Manchu). Engineering was handled by Jason Weinheimer and Zach Reeves, and mastered by Grammy winning mastering engineer Dave Collins (Black Sabbath, Alice Cooper, Soundgarden, Metallica).

Pallbearer will return to UK and Europe this summer for a run that spans 11 countries and 21 club/festival shows, concluding on August 16th at Germany’s Summer Breeze Festival in Dinkelsbuhl.

Pallbearer on tour:
13 Jul DE Hamburg – Molotow Club
14 Jul BE Dour – Dour Festival
15 Jul NL Nijmegen – Valkhof Festival
16 Jul UK London – Islington Assembly Hall
17 Jul UK Glasgow – Stereo
18 Jul UK Leeds – Brudenell Social Club
19 Jul UK Bristol – The Fleece
21 Jul DE Crispendorf – Chaos Descends Festival
23 Jul IT Milan – Circolo Magnolia
24 Jul SL Tolmin – Metaldays festival
03 Aug DK Copenhagen – Vega
04 Aug DE Beelen – Krach am Bach Festival
05 Aug DE Cottbus – Zum Faulen August
07 Aug HR Primosten – SuperUho Festival
08 Aug HU Budapest – A38
09 Aug CZ Josefov – Brutal Assault Festival
10 Aug DE Bad Kotzting – Void Fest
12 Aug UK Derbyshire – Bloodstock Festival
14 Aug DE Wiesbaden – Schlachthof
15 Aug CH Winterthur – Gaswerk
16 Aug DE Dinkelsbuhl – Summer Breeze Festival

Tickets available for UK shows here.


Initially formed in 2008, Pallbearer grew from the fertile underground metal scene of Little Rock, Arkansas – releasing their debut full length Sorrow and Extinction in early 2012. The record made an immediate and immense impact on die-hard doom fans and metal critics alike, also forming the four piece fans outside of the metal scene. Hailed by Rolling Stone as the #1 metal album of 2012, the album also received the coveted Best New Music stamp of approval from Pitchfork and landed the band on end of year lists at SPIN and NPR.

Their formidable sophomore record, 2014’s Foundations Of Burden featured on countless critic’s end of year lists and cemented their reputation as an unstoppable and emotive force – driving doom beyond its imagined limits, carving themselves an entirely original path through the realm of heavy music. The record charted in the Billboard Top 100, achieving Pitchfork’s Best New Music accolade and Decibel’s highly honoured Album Of The Year award.

Pallbearer are:
Brett Campbell // Lead Vocals, Electric & Acoustic Guitars, Synthesizers
Devin Holt // Electric & Acoustic Guitars, Vocals
Mark Lierly // Percussion
Joseph D. Rowland // Electric Bass, Vocals, Synthesizers


Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day