DeWolff have revealed their new song “Counterfeit Love,” the second song to be taken off of their upcoming new album Love, Death & In Between, which will be releases on 3 February via Mascot Records / Mascot Label Group. You can listen to “Counterfeit Love” HERE. They will be playing the 100 Club, London on 2 March. Tickets HERE.
Talking about the new song they say “COUNTERFEIT LOVE is a song all about fake love. Where does it come from? What is it worth? Where can you spend it? How can you spot it? Held up to the light it might show its colour shifting truth! Like all the rest of the album, everything you hear was recorded live in one take to analog tape at the Kerwax Studio in France. It’s got a blistering Hammond solo that was conceived at the very last minute, and it might just be the most Zeppelin-esque thing we ever recorded!”
They have previously released“Heart Stopping Kinda Show”from the album at the same time that they competed a 13-date run of shows with The Black Crowe s across mainland Europe. Love, Death & In Betweenis a reaction to their previous two studio albums. Tascam Tapes, which was recorded on the road with a four-track cassette recorder from the 1980s and the socially distanced recording of the #2 Netherlands album charting Wolffpack. “For this, we wanted to do something with people, as many people as possible,” singer/guitarist Pablo van de Poel says.
The lightning strike moment for Love, Death & In Between came via Memphis. “In 2019, I attended a sermon by Al Green at his own church, and it was a life-changing experience, musically,” Pablo remembers. In May 2022, they went to Kerwax, an analogue studio in the village of Loguivy-Plougras in Brittany. “We thought, let’s go on an adventure,” he says. Located in North-western France and surrounded by forests, they retreated to the residential studio for two weeks, engulfed in vintage recording equipment from the 1940s to the 1970s.
Recording live to tape, with no overdubs, brothers Pablo (guitar/vocals) and Luka van de Poel (drums/vocals) alongside Robin Piso (Hammond/Wurlitzer) were joined by a host of friends for the recordings.  The themes on the album were partly inspired by novels from 20th-century American authors, particularly John Steinbeck’s ‘Tortilla Flat. “There is a quote from him, ‘The good story lay in half-told things which must be filled in out of the hearer’s own experience,’ and that was something I really wanted to do with lyrics on this record.” At the same time, the band were deep diving into old soul and R&B records – Sam Cooke, The Impressions, The Coasters, The Clovers, Ray Charles and Little Richard, as well as a heavy dose of gospel – The Soul Stirrers, Al Green and early records by The Staple Singers.
Assets Available Here
Tour Dates
17 Nov – Tøjhuset, Fredericia, DENMARK
18 Nov – Tobakken, Esbjerg, DENMARK
05 Jan – Paradiso, Amsterdam, NETHERLANDS
03 Feb – Effenaar Eindhoven, NETHERLANDS
04 Feb – Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NETHERLANDS
09 Feb – Annabel, Rotterdam, NETHERLANDS
11 Feb – Tivoli Vredenburg, Utrecht, NETHERLANDS
13 Feb – Fraanz Club, Berlin, GERMANY
14 Feb – Bahnhof Pauli, Hamburg, GERMANY
16 Feb – De Oosterpoort, Groningen, NETHERLANDS
17 Feb – Doornroosje, Nijmegen, NETHERLANDS
18 Feb – AB, Brussels, BELGIUM
22 Feb – Factoria Cultural, Avilés, SPAIN
23 Feb – Sala Mon, Madrid, SPAIN
24 Feb – Rock & Blues Café, Zaragoza, SPAIN
25 Feb – Upload, Barcelona, SPAIN
26 Feb – Kafe Antzokia, Bilbao, SPAIN
28 Feb – La Maroquinerie, Paris, FRANCE
02 Mar – 100 Club, London, UK
Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day