Viv — the second LP by California rock n roll unit SPICE— expands their palette of damaged anthems and addiction poetics with a more bristling, visceral sound, distilled from years in the trenches of bands, break-ups, and breakdowns.  Out next Friday May 20th on Dais Records, Viv alludes to broader notions of vividness— sonic, visual, and otherwise. 

What unites and ignites the songs on Viv across different energies and arrangements is their specific sense of emotion— rawness refined into reckonings, approaching truth, born of cold mornings, bad luck, and too many wrong turns. Waking up where you’re not supposed to be, living a life you don’t recognize. Engineered by Jack Shirley and mixed/mastered by Sam Pura in Oakland, the mix achieves that rare balance of every element being elevated but distinct, with voices, strings, and drums each given space to blaze parallel paths.

Today, the album’s third single “Bad Fade” is out with a cinematic new music video.

Watch (+ share) “Bad Fade” on YouTube.

Set for release on May 20th via Dais Records, Viv continues the upward trajectory set for SPICE from their self-titled debut and 2021’s “A Better Treatment b/w Everyone Gets In” 7inch.  Singer Ross Farrar explains their chemistry succinctly: “We all got in a room and this is what came out.” 

Viv is available for pre-order here.

SPICE, ‘Viv’ track listing:

1.  Recovery
2.  Any Day Now
3.  Ashes in the Birdbath
4.  Threnody
5.  Melody Drive
6.  Dining Out
7.  Live Scene
8.  Vivid
9.  Bad Fade
10.  Climbing Down the Ladder

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day