Low Cut Connie have announced that their new double album Private Lives will be released on October 13th via Contender Records / MidCitizen Records. The album is available for pre-order now and will be available on CD, double LP and digitally across all streaming services.

Last month, Low Cut Connie released the official video for the album’s title track – the second song to be released from Private Lives following ‘Look What They Did‘ –  to acclaim from the likes of NPR Music’s Ann Powers, who called it “the freak anthem we need right now”, and Rolling Stone, who said “the title track is an archetypal upbeat piano-rocker from the road-warrior collective, with Adam Weiner celebrating the secret side hustles and quiet eccentricities of the ‘town freaks’ of his native Philadelphia.”

Private Lives is a beautiful mess, alternating between raucous, full-tilt, rock and roll ecstasy and gritty, stripped-down vulnerability. While Weiner might not call it a concept album, there is an underlying architecture at play here. The record vacillates between riotous, anarchic anthems and raw, painfully honest solo performances, underscoring shifts between the public and private self.

Released against the backdrop of a global quarantine, Private Lives reminds us that our isolations and connections relate to so much more than the external, physical world. “I’m obsessed with understanding people’s interior lives”, explains Weiner. “In order to explore that idea, I had to create a flow that went in and out of these characters’ private spheres. There had to be a push and pull between their external and internal worlds. I knew if I was going to pull that off, I was going to have make a big album.”

Every Thursday and Saturday at 6:00 pm ET, Weiner brings his ‘Tough Cookies Starring Low Cut Connie’ livestream to Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Twitch and YouTube. The livestreams have been one of the most high-energy and acclaimed series’ of the quarantine and have been viewed hundreds of thousands of times by fans around the world. Following their launch, Rolling Stone praised Weiner for “…recreating the high-energy, interactive crowd banter from his live show”.

With five albums released to date, select highlights from the band’s impressive career include endorsements from Barack Obama and Elton John, a performance on Late Night with Seth Meyers, and a spot on Rolling Stone’s Top 100 Albums of the Decade list for their album Call Me Sylvia.

Private Lives Tracklist:
1) Private Lives
2) Help Me
3) Now You Know
4) Run To Me Darlin
5) Take a Little Ride Downtown
6) Wild Ride
7) If I Die
8) It Don’t Take A Genius
9) Look What They Did
10) Tea Time
11) The Fuckin You Get (for the Fuckin You Got)
12) Quiet Time
13) Charyse
14) Nobody Else Will Believe You
15) What Has Happened To Me
16) Let It All Hang Out Tonite
17) Stay As Long as You Like

Follow Low Cut Connie:
Website – Facebook – Twitter – Instagram – YouTube

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day