Pride Of Lions are a revered melodic rock act featuring legendary Survivor founder member (and The Ides Of March co-founder prior to that) Jim Peterik, together with powerhouse American vocalist Toby Hitchcock. Formed in 2003, ‘Lion Heart’ is their sixth album and the follow-up to 2017’s ‘Fearless’.

Jim Peterik has never lost his passion for melodic rock – a musical sub-genre he helped to forge in the first place – with Pride Of Lions the perfect showcasing of unforgettable melodies and powerful vocals. The songs on the new record also demonstrate what a ‘lionheart’ Peterik still is. The opening cut (and title track) blazes from the speakers, gaining momentum with each chorus, while future classics such as ‘Carry Me Back’, with its unforgettable hook, the mesmerising ‘Unfinished Heart’ and the majestic epic ‘Rock & Roll Boomtown’ illustrate why this record has plenty to please all melodic rock fans.

Toby Hitchcock came to the attention of genre afficionados via the duo’s self-titled 2003 debut album. Often compared to Bobby Kimball (TOTO), Jimi Jamison (Survivor) and Lou Gramm (Foreigner), his voice has the depth, feeling and extension of each of these vocal giants while still retaining his own trademark, making him a star in the current melodic rock scene.

From the outset of their collaboration, Jim Peterik has striven to equal successful songs that have rightfully seen his name appear in the pantheon of great writers in his genre thanks to his love of melody matched with driving rock. Having already achieved huge chart success with The Ides Of March and their single (and album) ‘Vehicle’ while still a teenager in 1970, his phenomenal ascent to the top second time around was achieved on the back of Survivor songs he co-wrote such as ‘Eye Of The Tiger’ (from the film ‘Rocky III’), ‘The Search Is Over’, ‘High On You’ and ‘I Can’t Hold Back’. Further hits from movies followed, including ‘Burning Heart’ (from ‘Rocky IV’), while he also co-wrote the theme song of the seminal animation classic ‘Heavy Metal’ with Sammy Hagar.

A long lasting and fruitful relationship commenced in 1980 with the southern-rock group .38 Special, with Peterik co-writing platinum hits such as ‘Hold On Loosely’, ‘Caught Up In You’, ‘Wild-Eyed Southern Boys’, ‘Fantasy Girl’ and ‘Rockin’ Into The Night’. That collaboration continues to this day. Peterik has also written with Lynyrd Skynyrd, Cheap Trick, REO Speedwagon, The Beach Boys and more.

1  Lion Heart
2  We Play For Free
3  Heart Of The Warrior
4  Carry Me Back
5  Sleeping With A Memory
6  Good Thing Gone
7  Unfinished Heart
8  Give It Away
9  Flagship
10  Rock & Roll Boomtown
11  You’re Not A Prisoner
12  Now

new album
out 09.10.20

pre-order link

includes the single

Toby Hitchcock – lead vocals
Jim Peterik – lead vocals, background vocals, keyboards, electric and acoustic guitar, percussion
Ed Breckenfeld – drums and percussion
Klem Hayes – bass
Mike Aquino – lead and rhythm guitar
Christian Mathew Cullen – synthesisers & programming
Colin Peterik – drums on ‘Lion Heart’
Kevin Campbell – bass on ‘Lion Heart’