Already on the A list at Jazz FM, a cover version of ‘Remember The Children’, originally recorded by Earth, Wind & Fire in 1972, has just been released as the latest single from ‘Resonate’, the new album by the acclaimed US funk-based act Lettuce.

Reflecting on recent world events, the band state: “‘Remember The Children’ is a song from the early years of our collective favourite band. The message of the lyrics are equal to the power of the music. To help eradicate racism, we must reach the children with a message of unity before they are corrupted with racist ideologies by their parents, friends and surroundings. We hope the message of this song is revived today in 2020, because it is very much needed.”

‘Resonate’ itself follows the 2019 Lettuce album ‘Elevate’, which earned the group their first collective Grammy nomination in the Best Contemporary Instrumental Album category, racking up millions of streams and hitting no. 1 on the Billboard Contemporary Jazz Albums and iTunes Top R&B Albums charts in the process.

‘Resonate’ plays like a master class in funk sub-genres, while Lettuce continue to be boundary-pushing innovators almost three decades into their career, blurring the lines and smashing it up with jazz chords, psychedelic passages, big horns, strains of soul and go-go, hip-hop elements and a joyful, uplifting improvisational sound all their own. Resulting from a wave of creative output having not having been in the studio for four years, the album was helmed by famed producer and engineer Russell Elevado [D’Angelo, The Roots, Erykah Badu] and written and recorded during the same Colorado Sound Studios sessions that also produced ‘Elevate’. Four singles have been released from ‘Resonate’ to date, all of which have been playlisted by Jazz FM and given airplay on other stations.

A powerhouse collective made up of world-class master musicians, the members of Lettuce are also among the most highly sought-after musicians in the industry with resumés that read like a who’s who in hip-hop, pop and beyond, working and performing with the likes of Kanye West, Lady Gaga, Stevie Wonder, Questlove, Justin Timberlake, The Fugees, Eminem, Dr. Dre, Britney Spears, Gary Clark Jr., Skrillex, Solange and more.

1  Blaze
2  Good Morning Mr. Shmink
4  Checker Wrecker
5  Silence Is Golden
6  Moksha
7  Mr. Dynamite
8  Remember The Children
9  ‘Lude
10  House of Lett
11  Resonate

Adam Deitch: drums, percussion
Adam ‘Shmeeans’ Smirnoff: guitar
Erick ‘Jesus’ Coomes: bass
Ryan Zoidis: alto, baritone and tenor sax, Korg X-911
Eric ‘Benny’ Bloom: trumpet, horns
Nigel Hall: vocals, Hammond B-3, Rhodes, clavinet, keyboards


More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day