Filled to the brim with reimagined versions of legendary rock band The Rolling Stones‘ catalogue from Country’s biggest stars and produced by acclaimed Nashville-based producer Robert Deaton, the highly anticipated album Stoned Cold Country is set for release on 17th March, 2023 on BMG – pre-save and pre-add the album here.

In tandem with the unveiling of the album’s release date, music fans everywhere can get another glimpse into the project with 2022 CMA Female Vocalist of the Year and New Artist of the Year Lainey Wilson‘s spin on one of the band’s most ubiquitous and beloved tracks “You Can’t Always Get What You Want,” which is available now everywhere – listen here. On the track, Wilson’s southern roots, award-winning twang-soaked vocals and undeniable funky edge are on full display with every word of the band’s 1969 classic.

“The Rolling Stones are global music icons. To have the opportunity to record one of their tracks was an incredible honor for me,” Wilson said. “I had so much fun recording this track and I’m so grateful that I got to bring my bell bottom country flare to one of their greatest hits.”

Long fascinated by the Stones, and specifically their Country roots, Deaton spent the past several years on a specific mission: namely to shine a light on the Stones’ influence not only on Country music at large, but more specifically on some of its most convention-busting contemporary artists.

The result became Stoned Cold Country – “A love letter to The Rolling Stones from Nashville,” in Deaton’s own words – and a toast to not only one of the best bands to ever do it, but specifically to their supreme influence on the past and present world of Country music.

The album features vibrant contributions from Jimmie Allen, Brooks & Dunn, Brothers Osborne, Eric Church, Steve Earle, Elle King, Marcus King, Little Big Town, Ashley McBryde, Maren Morris, Shane, Koe Wetzel, The War And Treaty, Lainey Wilson & Zac Brown Band – all of whom inject their own trademark sonic styles into the revered music of the Stones, creating a powerful homage to one of the most enduring, trailblazing and influential bands in the world.

“This album is Country Music’s thank you to The Rolling Stones for 60 years of inspiration and providing the soundtrack of our lives. While recording the record, I was reminded that this is a showcase and spotlight on the best we have to offer as a genre,” Deaton says of the Stoned Cold Country“From our artists to all of the musicians that played on the record, we boldly state that Country Music is second to none when it comes to artists of integrity and creativity.”

Stoned Cold Country Tracklist

1. “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” – Ashley McBryde
2. “Honky Tonk Women” – Brooks & Dunn
3. “Dead Flowers” – Maren Morris
4. “It’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll (But I Like It)” – Brothers Osborne & The War And Treaty 
5. “Miss You” – Jimmie Allen
6. “Tumbling Dice” – Elle King
7. “Can’t You Hear Me Knocking” – Marcus King
8. “Wild Horses” – Little Big Town
9. “Paint It Black” – Zac Brown Band
10. “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” – Lainey Wilson
11. “Sympathy for the Devil” – Elvie Shane
12. “Angie” – Steve Earle
13. “Gimme Shelter” – Eric Church 
14. “Shine A Light” – Koe Wetzel

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day