One of the greatest rock singers of our time, Jorn Lande returns with a second instalment of classic,covers from artists and bands that have meant something special to him and helped forge his own unique style. The first single, a cover of ‘Lonely Nights’ by Bryan Adams, is available now.
Throughout his extensive career, which includes over forty albums of mostly original songs, the Norwegian vocalist has recorded excellent versions of rock classics from bands such as Thin Lizzy, DIO, UFO and Deep Purple. Every cover is treated with the utmost respect and ‘Jorn-ized’, as can be heard on the first ‘Heavy Rock Radio’ album with its versions of evergreen songs such as ‘Hotel California’, ‘I Know There’s Something Going On’, ‘You’re The Voice’ and ‘Running Up That Hill’. An enthusiastic response to that record from his legion of fans meant that a follow-up release was a no-brainer.
‘Heavy Rock Radio II – Executing The Classics’, is not an ordinary album of cover,  but rather a songbook of hits, featuring great versions of ‘I Do Believe in You’ by Pages, ‘Night Life’ by Foreigner, ‘New York Minute’ by Don Henley, ‘Bad Attitude’ by Deep Purple, a stunning metal version of Peter Gabriel’s ‘The Rhythm of the Heat’,” and an unmissable Dio cover, ‘Mystery’. The other songs include ‘Quinn the Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)’ originally recorded by Bob Dylan, ‘Lonely Night’ by Bryan Adams, ‘Needles And Pins’ by Jackie DeShannon, and a very personal choice from Jorn himself in the Russ Ballard song ‘Winning’.
Says Jorn: “The most important thing was to treat these songs with respect towards the original versions. My goal was always to think that the original artist would be honoured and find my version relevant. At the same time my intention was never to try to compete with the original song and artist, but make it a strong alternative version to enjoy.”
Jorn has sold millions of albums and been a frequent entry on sales charts worldwide. Continuing his rock crusade, there are no signs of him slowing down just yet.
album pre-order / single streaming link
1  Lonely Nights
2  Winning
3  New York Minute
4  Needles And Pins
5  Love
6  I Do Believe In You
7  Nightlife
8  Bad Attitude
9  Quinn The Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)
10  Mystery
11  The Rhythm Of The Heat
12  Hotel California (Remastered – Bonus Track)
13  The Final Frontier (Radio Edit – Bonus Track)
14  Die Young (Radio Edit – Bonus Track)
15  Naked City (Radio Edit – Bonus Track)
16  Ride Like The Wind (Remastered – Bonus Track)
Jorn Lande – vocals
Jgor Gianola – guitars
Trond Holter – guitars
Tore Moren – guitars
Luca Princiotta – guitars
Andrea Seveso – guitars
Sid Ringsby – bass
Alessandro Del Vecchio – keyboards
Francesco Jovino – drums

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day