Bristol, UK folk-punk/emo trio Toodles & The Hectic Pity are delighted to reveal their new single ‘The Enemies of Happiness Are Not Napping!’ which is out now via Bristol independent champions Specialist Subject Records.

The track is the latest to be taken from their debut album Hold Onto Happiness With Both Hands which will be released on 23rd June 2023.

Commenting on the single, front man Callum McAllister says: The working title of this song was ‘Shut Up & Kiss Me’. It almost hit the chopping block separate times because we all didn’t feel as though we could crack the ending, but we got there in the end! It’s in the liminal space between a venue and your own home and it’s about that kind of quiet anxious desperation of self-criticism that leads to an ‘Irish goodbye’ and self-enforced loneliness. It features cello by Ellis Morgan and trumpet from Danny Lester.”

To celebrate the release, the band have also just announced a special album release show on 27th July in Bristol at The Mount Without, with support from Exeter indie/shoegaze newcomers Soot Sprite and fellow Bristolian garage punks Cosmit.

Fresh from supporting PKEW PKEW PKEW in London last month, the trio will be playing shows with Live, Do Nothing in May 2023 including Marapalooza in Newcastle, and appearing at 2000 Trees in Cheltenham ahead of their own UK album tour dates in July 2023.

Affectionately known to their fans simply as Toodles, band members Callum, Max and Dom all met at secondary school in Gloucestershire and formed Toodles & the Hectic Pity in the political quagmire of the mid 2010s for one covers set at the original iteration of what would later become Inglefest, a small festival in the Cotswolds. The band subsequently released 3 EPs including The First EP (2016), Call In Sick (2017), and Ghosts, Guilt & Grandparents (2020), which was their first release through Specialist Subject.

Forthcoming debut album Hold Onto Happiness With Both Hands was recorded and produced by Phil Booth jr. at JT Soar, Nottingham in October 2022, with cello, percussion and backing vocals recorded at Woodbox, Bristol by Dom Mosley. The album was mixed by Robin Newman at Snug Recording Co., Nottingham and mastered by Ian Farmer and his cat, Onion, at The Metal Shop in Philadelphia, PA.

Lead single ‘Emotionally Unclean’ was released earlier this year to support from underground tastemakers at Noizze, Alt Corner, Shout Louder, Indie For Bunnies, Scene Point Blank, Breathing The Core and more, with radio spins from Steve Lamacq at BBC 6musicAmazing Radio, Phoenix FM, MMH Radio and more.

The band have played extensively in Bristol and around the country including the infamous Deadpunk Special, Till the Fest, Do it Together Fest, and shared stages with the likes of AJJ, Jeffrey Lewis, Microwave, Spanish Love Songs, Mikey Erg, Crywank, Fresh, Muncie Girls, Martha, and many more.

Further details and new music will be revealed over the coming months.

Debut album Hold Onto Happiness With Both Hands released 23rd June via Specialist Subject Records

Live Dates:

19TH MAY Santiago’s, LEEDS *
20TH MAY Marrapalooza, NEWCASTLE *
09TH JUL Just Dropped In, COVENTRY
13TH JUL The Butler, READING
14TH JUL Dulwich Football Club, LONDON
15TH JUL The Pipeline, BRIGHTON
27TH JUL The Mount Without, BRISTOL (album release w/ Soot Sprite + Cosmit)
01ST SEP Punx Picnic, PLYMOUTH

* w/ Live, Do Nothing

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day