DEAD LAKES have released their long-awaited first full-length album daydreamer via SharpTone Records. Produced by Sam Guaiana (The Devil Wears Prada, Silverstein, Between You & Me), the new album is designed to be consumed front-to-back on a solo nighttime drive and challenges listeners to take a chance on themselves in the name of personal discovery. Over the course of twelve dreamy tracks – including singles ‘wrong way,’ which has garnered over a million streams on Spotify, ‘strange juice,’ which became the band’s most viewed music video after only five days, ‘stamina,’ and ‘tongue planet‘ – listeners see DEAD LAKES follow their own advice and leave their former selves silhouetted by the glow of the sinking sun, emerging reborn in the neon twilight.

“From the jump, daydreamer puts you in the driver’s seat of the story,” explains vocalist Sumy. “This record constantly blurs the line between reality and daydream both sonically and lyrically. We wanted to extend that energy to this record by giving you a mix of what you’d expect from us with a surreal fresh energy and perspective. The result ended up being a sonic journey of sound and emotion. This record runs parallel with the ride of life. The gut-wrenching moments, self-doubt, relationships, vices, and the feeling of euphoria.”

Fans can stream daydreamer now at

Alongside the new album, DEAD LAKES has shared a music video for the track ‘quicksand.’ On the track, the band explains, “‘quicksand’ is about those relationships that are so up and down. It’s tough when you love someone or something that isn’t meant for you. You don’t want to give up on it, but sometimes it’s best if you want to feel like you can see daylight again.”

Fans can watch the ‘quicksand’ music video now at

We wanted the music video to make you feel like as long as you got your friends everything’s going to be okay. You gotta find your people to lean on and hang on to.”

daydreamer Tracklist:
1. daydreamer
2. strange juice
3. tongue planet
4. wrong way
5. onyx drive
6. stamina
7. believer
8. hold back
9. ad nauseam
10. drown it out
11. quicksand
12. deceiver

Laden with fissures and debris, oil and ice, uneven asphalt and the ever-present influence of other reckless travelers, DEAD LAKES admit that negotiating the open road is not always a task completely compatible with the faint of heart. Yet, when the only alternative to such a venture is revealed as an inevitable stasis, it becomes clear that in the journey of life, there’s no place more dangerous than the passenger’s seat.

Lulling one into a false sense of fulfillment, we often face a strong temptation to use the past as a crutch, clinging to the people and habits which once brought us joy. However, as the Seattle quartet have come to demonstrate, one must sometimes be willing to switch lanes in order to secure a better future.

Taking the wheel and refusing to live their life in the rear-view mirror, it’s this expansive, complicated, and sometimes painful process which vocalist Sumy, drummer Chon, guitarist Rossi, and bassist Cody channel into their debut album.

Pushing even further into the self-described “heavy boy band” universe created in their 2020 EP New Language, the quartet have made a point to continually learn and evolve. And as a result, daydreamer sees brand-new sparks of inspiration fly. Whether it be drummer Chon’s brief vocal debut on ‘onyx dr’ or the creative field recording of sea kelp swung to make a whip-like sound, the band are bound to pack a punch. Finding their sweet spot between pop and rock, dreams and reality, and the technically sound and unconventionally brilliant, DEAD LAKES stand out from the crowd, wearing both their heart on their sleeve and a wry smile on their lips as they contemplate what’s next.

daydreamer is out today via SharpTone Records.

“Buckle up daydreamer, this isn’t exactly a joyride.”

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day