More than three months after the release of the release of GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT’s critical acclaimed tenth studio album Ghost Tapes #10, the Irish four-piece presents a new official video for “Barren Trees”. The song is the most emotive and haunting song on the album and it’s also the only song that includes lyrics and vocals mixed as an instrument, so they blend in with the overall sound of the song. The additional guitar parts by Jimmy Scanlan complete the special sound design crafted on “Barren Trees”.

Inspired by the poem “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening” by Robert Frost, “Barren Trees” reflects the overall feeling of the band in November 2019, when this piece of art was written.

“Fade to darkness, frozen ground
Leaves fallen, barren trees
Snowy twilight, cold moon rising
Creaking branches, moving shadows
Where the spectres of winter are rising.”
– (Lyrics)-

Reigning as one of the most well-known and highly critically acclaimed experimental instrumental groups out there with a respected musical legacy spanning nearly 20 years, Irish four-piece GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT just reached a career benchmark with the release of their critical acclaimed 10th studio album, Ghost Tapes #10, about three months ago.

As most vinyl formats are completely sold out, Ghost Tapes #10 will be available as a special and strictly limited Glow In The Dark format on June 25.

Ghost Tapes #10 is certainly the most ferocious GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT full-length to date – it still retains all the rich musical and emotive elements the band is known for by wheeling around luminance, but offers harsh and deep reminiscences as well. Works of art like “Burial”, “In Flux” and “Barren Trees”, with additional guitars by Jimmy Scanlan, amongst others, are proof of these creations of sound. The album’s closer, the atmospheric “Luminous Waves”, captivates in a trance-like mindset – putting one deeply in touch with their inner self, drifting away to stirring tunes of guest cello virtuoso Jo Quail.

The artwork was illustrated by David Rooney, who has worked with the band in the past, and plays into the sense of the foreboding and uncertain times we live in. Ghost Tapes #10 is available as a four-page digipack as well as in multiple limited LP options.

1. Adrift
2. Burial
3. In Flux
4. Spectres
5. Fade
6. Barren Trees
7. Luminous Waves

Ghost Tapes #10 is available in the following formats:
– LP Gatefold Vinyl GLOW IN THE DARK (limited to 300 copies)
– LP Gatefold Vinyl GOLD (limited to 300 copies) – SOLD OUT!
– LP Gatefold Vinyl Deluxe SPLATTER WHITE/GOLD/BLACK + Brush Print Album Cover Metal Plate, Slipmat (strictly limited to 100 copies) – SOLD OUT!
– LP Gatefold Vinyl SPLATTER WHITE/BLACK (limited to 300 copies) – SOLD OUT!
– LP Gatefold Vinyl BLACK
– Four-page CD Digipak
– Bundle – LP Gatefold Vinyl BLACK + Shirt
– Bundle – 1- CD Digipak + Shirt
– Digital Album
– Digital Album – High Res

Torsten Kinsella – Guitar, Piano/Synths
Niels Kinsella – Bass
Lloyd Hanney – Drums
Jamie Dean – Guitar, Piano