Sleeper celebrate 25 years since the release of their debut album ‘Smart’ with a Deluxe re-issue on June 5th 2020. ‘Smart’ will be available for the first time on Limited Coloured Vinyl, and both the CD & Vinyl come with 10 additional B-Sides and Rarities from the Smart campaign and an updated booklet insert complete with new photographs

The band have also announced a headline UK tour in August and September 2020, where they’ll play their debut album in full. Support comes from The Bluetones, who will be playing ‘Expecting To Fly’ in full. Tickets are on sale now.

Louise Wener“We can’t believe it’s 25 years since SMART was released. On the day it came out we all jumped on the 73 bus to HMV Oxford Street to see the giant window display. Andy and Jon got a bollocking from staff for putting the vinyl at No.1 in the racks – by Saturday it ended up at No.5 – still a totally surreal feeling. We cannot wait to play this record in full and take it out on tour.”

The Full track listing for ‘Smart’ is:
1. Inbetweener
2. Swallow
3. Delicious
4. Hunch
5. Amuse
6. Bedhead
7. Lady Love Your Countryside
8. Vegas
9. Poor Flying Man
10. Alice In Vain
11. Twisted
12. Pyrotechnician (I Think I Love You)

13. Bedside Manners
14. Tatty
15. Little Annie
16. It’s Wrong of You to Breed
17. One Girl Dreaming
18. Alice In Vain 7″ Single version
19. Hymn To Her
20. Big Nurse
21. Ha Ha You’re Dead
22. Bank


28th – O2 Academy, Glasgow
29th – O2 Institute, Birmingham

4th – O2 Academy, Newcastle
5th – O2 Academy, Leeds
11th – O2 Academy, Bournemouth
12th – O2 Academy, Bristol
18th – Ritz, Manchester
19th – O2 Forum Kentish Town, London

* With The Bluetones

Tickets on sale now via

Sleeper enjoyed huge critical and commercial success in the mid 90s: achieving 8 Top 40 singles across 3 Top 10 albums with well over 1,000,000 sales. Their music was characterized by astute, observational lyrics and big, hook driven melodies. Wener was an iconic front-person, heading up a movement that brought women centre stage in guitar music.

Sleeper split in 1998 and walked purposely away from the limelight. Wener carved out a career as a successful novelist. Drummer Andy Maclure and John Stewart – Sleeper’s guitarist – both became lecturers in music studies. Sleeper reformed in 2017 to play in four British cities in July and August, as part of the Star Shaped Festival. In 2018 they released their first album in 21 years, ‘The Modern Age’.

Sleeper are: Louise Wener, Andy Maclure, Johnathan Stewart, Keiron Pepper

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day