Long Island, New York state based Magic Dance will return with a new album, ‘Remnants’, next month. It offers up more of the band’s signature 80’s influenced sound, albeit with a distinct contemporary edge. Performed with absolute genuine emotion and conviction, it is hard not to be swept along and carried away by mesmerising songs with powerful melodies and an entrancing sound that stay in the memory throughout the duration of the album.

Following the recent ‘From Death To Life!’ teaser EP, the song ‘Restless Nights’ has just been released as a single. Magic Dance mastermind Jon Siejka explains that “it is about wasted youth; one borne of restlessness rather than recklessness. It’s about a time in my life when I wanted more, but was holding myself back. In the end, you realise that you can’t change the past, but you can learn from your regrets and use them as fuel for a better future.”

As for ‘Remnants’ as a whole, he continues: “it is an album that moves from dark to light. It’s about accepting your own mortality and the inevitability of death, but this realisation can also give you the drive to live life true to yourself, if you only let it. Sonically, it’s a mix of all I’ve done to date with Magic Dance plus more. I hope it will melt your faces and hearts!”

Magic Dance is the solo project of singer/songwriter Jon Siejka and was originally begun in 2012 as an outlet for his synthwave songs. It is heavily influenced by iconic synth-pop and movie soundtrack music of the 1980’s, although has recently evolved into a heavier and more guitar-oriented style that leans more towards classic mid 80’s AOR sounds.

The previous Magic Dance album release was ‘New Eyes’ in late 2018, Siejka’s debut for Frontiers but third album overall. It offered ten superb songs infused with sparkling keys, energetic riffs and catchy, memorable hooks.

WARNING: This record is extremely addictive and you will be compulsively singing along in no time!

1  Oh No
2  Long And Lost Lonely Nights
3  Zombie Breath Surprise
4  Cut Me Deep
5  When Your World Comes Down
6  Change Your Life
7  I’m Still Holding On
8  Changes
9  Restless Nights
10  Til Your Last Breath
11  I Can’t Be The Only One

Jon Siejka – vocals, guitars, synths
Kevin Krug, Gabor Domjan, Luke Anderson, Emanuele Moretti – bass
Kevin Mcadams – drums, percussion
Gdaliy – sax
Tim Mackey – guitar solo on ‘I’m Still Holding On’, ‘Restless Nights’, ‘Zombie Breath Surprise’ and ‘No Light’
Ziv Shalev – guitar solo on ‘Oh No’ and ‘When Your World Comes Down’
Stelios Andre – guitar solo on ‘Changes’, ‘Til Your Last Breath’ and ‘I Can’t Be The Only One’

new album
out 04.12.20

pre-order link

includes the single

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day