Burn Out


Dutch black metallers gear up 

Dutch blackened Death Doom Metallers SOULBURN are soon to release their newest, third studio album ‘Earthless Pagan Spirit’ on November 18th, 2016 via Century Media Records.

The album’s opening track, ‘Where Splendid Corpses Are Towering Towards The Sun’, can now be checked out online here:

SOULBURN vocalist/bassist Twan van Geel checked in with the following comment about the track: “We are proud to present you the opening track from our upcoming album ‘Earthless Pagan Spirit’. This song is a classic ode to the supremacy of the blackest of Metal. ‘Where Splendid Corpses Are Towering Towards The Sun’ ravishes straight through the high hopes of a self-proclaimed righteous people and their plastic vanity. And at the triumph of their death, scorched by the sun of their own divinity, in the serene mist from their ashen skulls, we dance.”

Here is the complete track-listing for the new album:

SOULBURN – ‘Earthless Pagan Spirit’
1. Where Splendid Corpses Are Towering Towards The Sun
2. The Blood Ascendant
3. Howling At The Heart Of Death
4. As Cold As Heavens Slain
5. Withering Nights
6. The Torch
7. Spirited Asunder
8. Diary Of A Reaper

The album’s initial CD pressing comes packaged in a slipcase and contains the bonus track ‘The Last Monument Of God’. Furthermore the album will also be available as Gatefold LP on 180gr. vinyl as either black or strictly limited golden (100x via CM Webshop) or clear (200x via CM Distro) colour editions and of course as Digital Download.

The European pre-sale for the physical formats of SOULBURN’s ‘Earthless Pagan Spirit’ starts today via CM Distro here: http://smarturl.it/earthlessCMDISTRO

Originally SOULBURN emerged after a first demise of Dutch death metal legend Asphyx in the mid 90’s, when founding members Eric Daniels (guitars) and Bob Bagchus (drums) looked for a seperate outlet to unleash their mutual obsession with Bathory, Venom and Celtic Frost. After a demo and the cult “Feeding On Angels” debut album via Century Media Records in 1998, which featured Wannes Gubbels (Pentacle) on vocals/bass, SOULBURN were put to rest when Asphyx returned with “On The Wings Of Inferno” (2000) with the same line-up. SOULBURN was dead, buried, but not forgotten…as they resurfaced 16 years in their new line-up featuring the core of Eric Daniels (guitars) and Bob Bagchus (drums), teaming up with Twan van Geel (Flesh Made Sin, Legion Of The Damned) as vocalist/bassist and Remco Kreft (Grand Supreme Blood Court, Nailgun Massacre, Xenomorph) as second guitarist for the release of “The Suffocating Darkness”. A video clip for the song “In Suffocating Darkness”, off “The Suffocating Darkness”, can be seen here: https://youtu.be/rOJwm3q5wSw

Following up on 2014’s ‘The Suffocating Darkness’ effort, the new album was recorded in The Netherlands at Harrow Studio as well as Double Noise Studio and then mixed and mastered by Magnus “Devo” Andersson at Endarker Studio in Sweden (Marduk, Ofermod, etc.).

19.11.2016 Koblenz (Germany) – Florinsmarkt
11.12.2016 Zaandam (The Netherlands) – De Flux / DocFest
16.12.2016 Eindhoven (The Netherlands) – Eindhoven Metal Meeting
05.02.2017 Rotterdam (The Netherlands) – Baroeg
11.03.2017 Beek en Donk (The Netherlands) – Fortress Fest

Twan van Geel – vocals/bass
Remco Kreft – guitar
Eric Daniels – guitar
Bob Bagchus – drums

Soulburn (Demo) – 1996
Feeding On Angels – 1998
The Suffocating Darkness – 2014
Split 7” EP w/ Desaster – 2015
Earthless Pagan Spirit – 2016


Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day