Metal Hall of Fame inductee, Blaze Bayley, releases a brand new live album, featuring versions of songs from his last studio album ‘War Within Me’ and also songs he wrote and/or performed during his time in Iron Maiden (1994-1999).
The 5 songs from ‘War Within Me’ were recorded on tour in the UK, and the remainder were recorded in France.

The album title, ‘Damaged Strange Different and Live’, is taken from the lyrics of the song ‘Warrior’. Official release date is 7th July and the album is available to order on vinyl LP, CD and digital platforms.
Having started his career as a professional singer with Wolfsbane in 1984, Blaze went on to front Iron Maiden, touring worldwide and releasing two studio albums – ‘The X Factor’ and ‘Virtual XI’, both of which achieved top twenty status in many countries. During his time with Iron Maiden, Blaze co-wrote the single ‘Man on the Edge’ (from ‘The X Factor’ album), a top ten hit in the UK, as well as charting successfully across Europe.
Following his exit from Iron Maiden he has pursued a solo career, beginning with his now legendary solo debut album ‘Silicon Messiah’ in 2000, followed by a further ten studio albums, including particular interest in his sci-fi based ‘Infinite Entanglement’ trilogy (released in consecutive years 2016-2018) and the critically-acclaimed ‘War Within Me’ released in 2021.
Starting in 2013 and exclusively since 2016, Blaze records and plays live with Manchester (UK) melodic metal band Absolva, featuring lead guitarist Christopher Appleton and his brother Luke Appleton who is formerly of American metalheads Iced Earth. This consistent line-up is completed by drummer Martin Mcnee and bassist Karl Schramm.
As with all Blaze’s more recent works, he co-produces with Christopher Appleton and mastering is handled by Ade Emsley (Iron Maiden, Tank, Voodoo Six). With this team Blaze has been able to develop his passion for loud heavy metal guitars. Artwork is provided by Akirant Illustration (Iron Maiden, Star Wars).
On 25th March 2023, just 2 days before the intended start of a European tour, Blaze suffered a serious heart attack. Following the necessary quadruple bypass surgery it’s expected his recovery period will be several months, so the tour diary is currently being reconstructed. Details of a return to the live arena will be confirmed at a later date, as will a new studio album which is in the works for 2024.
Track listing…
1. War Within Me
2. Pull Yourself Up
3. Warrior
4. The Power of Nikola Tesla
5. 18 Flights
6. Lord of the Flies
7. Judgement of Heaven
8. Fortunes of War
9. Como Estais Amigos

Previous article
Next article

More From Author




Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day