JAMES have announced the release of a new track, RECOVER, taken from their forthcoming album

ALL THE COLOURS OF YOU, to be released on 4 June. Recover is available now across all DSPs.


The third track to be released from the new album is the most personal and reflective on the record. Recover tells of the death of Tim Booth’s father-in-law to Covid during the first wave in Spring of last year, the lyrics reflecting the universal pain of those dealing with grief from a distance. Yet Recover ultimately remains a hopeful track, celebrating a loved one’s life, spirit and legacy rather than the loss and sadness. “We will remember how to pass your spirit on.” The band have recorded a one-off performance of Recover, filmed in isolation, featuring a deeply personal opening message from Tim.


Tim says: “This song is made and dedicated to all those who have lost loved ones during the pandemic or otherwise. It speaks to the waiting, the pain of not being able to be there when they pass, and the gift of love of their life.”


All the Colours of You, the band’s 16th studio album, was recorded in part before Covid struck, and is produced by the Grammy award winning Jacknife Lee (U2, REM, Taylor Swift, Snow Patrol, The Killers). On production duties with James for the first time, he brought a fresh approach to their sound, working remotely from his studio liaising with Tim Booth (his Topanga Canyon neighbour) and Jim Glennie from the band, reimagining their demos and capturing the band in all their virtual glory. The result is a record with the most arena-ready and fresh tracks of their 38-year career; the sound of one of Britain’s best bands deconstructed and reassembled by one of the world’s most renowned producers.


Since the release of Sit Down, their breakthrough single in 1991, James have released 15 studio albums, selling over 25 million copies in the process, and performed at countless headline shows and festivals across the world. They continue to be a huge live draw, having sold 60,000 tickets for their UK arena tour in November and December this year, a tour which has sold faster than any previous James tour.



ALL THE COLOURS OF YOU track listing:


  • ZERO
  • All the Colours of You
  • Recover
  • Beautiful Beaches
  • Wherever It Takes Us
  • Hush
  • Miss America
  • Getting Myself Into
  • Magic Bus
  • Isabella
  • XYST



ALL THE COLOURS OF YOU will be available on the following formats:


  • Standard CD
  • D2C Deluxe CD | with bonus Artwork / Photos / Pictures in a DVD Hardback Book package
  • Standard LP
  • D2C Deluxe LP | Swirl coloured vinyl
  • D2C Deluxe LP | Picture disc vinyl
  • Indies and HMV Deluxe LP | Multi-coloured vinyl
  • Cassette




UK TOUR with Special Guests HAPPY MONDAYS:




Thu         25           LEEDS                                     First Direct Arena

Fri           26           BIRMINGHAM                      Utilita Arena

Sun         28           CARDIFF                                 Motorpoint Arena

Tue         30           GLASGOW                             SSE Hydro




Wed       01           DUBLIN                                  3 Arena

Fri           03           MANCHESTER                       Arena (Sold Out)

Sat          04           LONDON                               Wembley Arena









Fri           30           GLASGOW                             Playground Weekender




Sun         01           DERBYSHIRE                          Y Not Festival




Thu         02           LANCASTER                           Highest Point Festival

Sat          04           WARRINGTON                      Neighbourhood Weekender

Thu         09           SCARBOROUGH                    Open Theatre

Fri           17           ISLE OF WIGHT                     Isle of Wight Festival





Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day