MOBS, the nostalgic pop band from Melbourne, Australia has unveiled details on their forthcoming album, ‘Cinema Paradiso’, which will be released February 28 through Rude Records. The band also has released a new single and visual for the song ‘School’s Out’.


Drawing inspiration from both the musical and cinematic era of the 1980s, MOBS have spent a lot of time crafting their niche sound. Mixing old: Phil Collins, Peter Gabriel, Billy Ocean, Tears for Fears; with new: COIN, LANY, LAUV, The 1975, M83. Writing songs from the perspective of main characters in specific classic 80’s films is just one of the ways the band intend to stand out, bringing another dimension to their story. “We have always been a huge fan of the 80’s era musically and cinematically,” says drummer Matt Purcell, “To gel these two concepts together we believe it represents our vision within the band”.

‘School’s Out’ was inspired by the classic 80’s film ‘Ferris Bueller’s Day Off’. Previous songs released include  ‘Big World, which was inspired from the film ‘Honey, I Shrunk The Kids’,  ‘Find Another You from the film ‘She’s All That’ and ‘I’ll Be Back from The Terminator.

Cinema Paradiso Track Listing

1. School’s Out
2. Find Another You
3. Big World
4. Close To The Sun
5. Way Back
6. Home
7. I’ll Be Back
8. Cruel Intentions
9. Some Kind of Wonderful
10. Take It Slow
11. Stand By You

Fans can now pre-order the album HERE

“The nostalgic pop sound that we have created is something that we have been working on for a long time and it’s amazing that we have the opportunity to take these songs overseas and showcase them to people on the other side of the world” mentions bass player Scott MacDougall.

Follow MOBS

Website: Facebook:
Twitter:  Instagram: