Instrumental stoner psych trio Kanaan have revealed their new video ‘Return to the Tundrasphere’, from their brilliant new LP Earthbound, released 12th November via Jansen Records.

Watch the video here:

Pre-order Earthbound here:

The third video in Kanaan‘s live in Amper Tone Studio series, it’s another glimpse into the band’s heady performance process.

Emerging from an ocean of fuzz like a Kyuss that went to jazz school, power trio Kanaan return with their fourth studio album in as many years. 

Earthbound will be released 12th November via Jansen Records – a change in direction for the still-young group. Where Kanaan‘s former albums have been jazzy and psychedelic explorations, with forays into kraut and free improvisation, the new album Earthbound comes at you heavier than a ton of bricks. The heavier Kanaan bear elements of the best of stoner rock, psych and sludge. 

Inspired by bands such as Colour HazeHawkwindElderMotorpsycho and Acid Mothers TempleEarthbound serves up plenty of surprising twists and turns, beautiful and mellow passages and masterful musicianship. Although never flashy, the whole album is a showcase of the three wildly talented musicians as they plough their way through enormous riffs and thunderous grooves.

Searching to perfect their hybrid of heavy rock and psychedelic jazz influences, the band isolated themselves in Halden’s Athletic Sound studios, working day and night to accomplish what became Earthbound, a quantum leap for their sound in terms of sheer heaviness and psychedelic extravaganza compared to their previous albums.

Kanaan are:

Ask Vatn Strøm – guitars, percussion, oscillations
Ingvald André Vassbø – drums, percussion, speed Farfisa
Eskild Myrvoll – bass, synths, Mellotron, guitar

More information:
Facebook || Instagram || Bandcamp

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day