Italian folk-blues six piece Ho.Bo is thrilled to announce brand new album A Man With A Gun Lives Here, which will be released worldwide via Kono Dischi and I Dischi Del Minollo on 5th June 2020. To coincide with the album announcement the band is set to launch the single In Cold Blood on 13thMarch 2020, which is accompanied by a video released today and available here –

In Cold Blood is a dark, slow and atmospheric number, in which the lyrics heavily intrude in the soundscape, shaping it to be the perfect setting for this tragic story. The single fully displays HO.BO’s sonic dimension, which is carried out through the entire record A Man With A Gun Lives Here. A collection of nine songs featuring the band’s peculiar sound: a blend of folk-blues, infused with the darkest tinges of rock and alternative.

HO.BO comments: “In Cold Blood is inspired by Truman Capote’s homonymous novel. There isn’t a worse fate than being kidnaped by Gary and Jilly, lovers in real life and devious murderers when the sun sets. Brutal tortures are the setting of this sad story, which is the second murder ballad of the album.”

HO.BO formed in 2017 as a creative project by musicians who wanted to pursue their own sound. The band’s unique take on folk and blues clearly transpires from their debut studio album “2/10”, released in February 2019 via NostudioRec,Kono Dischi and La Mansarda. The band created an unusual blend of deep blues and alternative folk, with Southern nuances and occasional bows to singer-songwriters style. The album was created and developed with an old school approach, recording all the tracks in analogue with original tape.

The band comments: “HO.BO, comes from Homeward Bound, it’s a journey in which musical adventures and outside contaminations play the prime part. Genres and experiences are collected during endless cultural voyages and elaborated with personal sensitivities. “Dark-folk”, “swamp blues”, “alt-country” o “Americana” are only but a few of the ingredients constituting this uncommon recipe.”

HO.BO is: Samuel Manzoni (vox, acoustic guitar), Andrea Bertoli (piano, farfisa, wurlitzer), Filippo Sperotto (lead acoustic-electric guitar), Mattia Rodighiero (drums), Marco Tommaso (banjo, bass, harmonica), Edoardo Perona (electric guitar).


  1. Hoboes That Pass In The Night
  2. Prairie-Dogs
  3. Falling Down, Henry
  4. In Cold Blood
  5. A Tiny Man Called Smith (ft. Swanz The Lonely Cat)
  6. Summer Clouds
  7. Psalm
  8. The Curse Of Peak Hill
  9. Bones Orchard

Useful links:

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day