Bristol-based alt/rock electro-punks COSMIC NINJA are delighted to announce that their forthcoming new EP, Dissident Transmission, will be released on 8th April 2022.

As a taster of the record, the band are pleased to present lead single ‘Lies’ which is released on 27th January 2022 via all good digital service providers.

Commenting on the track, the band said: “‘Lies’ is about the dishonesty and corruption rife in UK politics. The endless lies and lack of integrity has reached an extreme level—we are fearful of the consequences and the damage it is doing to society. Politics has lost sight of trying to make a better place for everyone and, instead, those with influence climb to the top and pull up the ladder by any means necessary.”

“In most lines of work, you would be held accountable for lies, but, for politicians, it seems acceptable practice; a tool that is extremely effective in misleading and wrongly influencing public opinion. This song is about calling out those lies, seeing through the misconception and positively challenging those walking blindly through corruption.”

Leading the charge into 2022 for politically-vocal, queer, alternative artists alongside the likes of Wargasm, Tokky Horror, Zand and CLT DRP, this proudly queer-fronted four-piece never fail to leave an impression with their fusion of rock, alternative and electronic sounds.

Balanced with a punk-edged, hardcore energy that’s driven by the weighty political messages they thread through their music, they take sonic inspiration from the likes of Enter Shikari, Don Broco, BMTH, and Pendulum.

Formed in 2016, the group is made up of vocalist Tamsin Cullum, guitarist and vocalist Jonny Angelini, bass and backing vocalist Robin De Wandelear, and drummer Danny Watts.

The quartet’s back catalogue gives a perfect overview of the development of their well-honed anti-establishment narrative, with a string of self-released records to date, including 2018 single ‘Yeah Right’, their self titled EP (2019), and 2020’s standalone track ‘Break The Silence’.

Based on the promise displayed across those early releases, the band have already garnered praise from the likes of Johnny Doom at Kerrang! Radio, Primordial Radio, BBC introducing, Tom Robinson at BBC 6music, and the Mike James Rock Show on Hard Rock Hell Radio.

Elsewhere at press they’ve been favourably reviewed by Powerplay Magazine, Alt Corner, Rock N Load Magazine, Metal Mayhem Radio, Already Heard, Pure Grain Audio, Live A Little Bit Louder, and Gig Radar.

As an epic live act who recently won ‘Best Gig by a Local Band’ in The Bristol Gig Guide’s 2021 Music Awards, they’ve already brought their explosive party vibes and politically-charged tracks to audiences at Glastonbury Calling, All Out All Dayer, Unite Against Hate Festival, Bristol Pride, Rock Against Cancer, the BBC 6music Fringe Festival, and many more, with plans in place for further touring in 2022.

Dissident Transmission EP released 8th April 2022

Live Dates:

12.02.22 – Trowbridge – Town Hall
09.03.22 – Bristol – The Louisiana

Dissident Transmission EP tracklist:

1. By Design
2. Lies
3. Snake Eyes
4. We Got Up
Cosmic Ninja are:

Tamsin Cullum (vocals)
Jonny Angelini (guitar and vocals)
Robin De Wandelear (bass and backing vocals)
Danny Watts (drums)

Cosmic Ninja online:

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day