Arctic Rain is, quite simply, a new melodic rock sensation from Sweden. The result of a collaboration between songwriter/keyboardist Pete Alpenborg, guitarist Magnus Berglund and singer Tobias Jönsson, bassist Gert Daun and drummer Jonas Jonsson then joined Arctic Rain for the recording of their debut album. The group’s aim was to write songs with strong melodic rock vibes based around the tasteful instrumental harmonies typical of many bands in the 1980’s and 90’s. A revival of sorts, but with a modern touch given to the overall sound.

“With influences like Whitesnake, Mr Big, Foreigner, Talisman, Def Leppard, TOTO, Treat, Dokken, White Lion, Journey and so many other great bands, we believe our album is something of a distillation of our combined interpretation of that era of music,” states Berglund. “We made a demo recording in late 2018 and sent it to a number of record labels. The response was very promising and we ended up signing with the label that was at the top of our list!”

While the core of Arctic Rain is undoubtedly Alpenborg’s songwriting (he has an impressive track record, having worked with acts such as Revolution Saints, House Of Lords, Issa, All 41, Toby Hitchcock, Sunstorm, Kee Of Hearts and many more), Berglund’s tasteful guitar playing and Jonsson’s amazing voice also assist in creating an outstanding final product that once again demonstrates why Sweden is the golden land of melodic rock.

1  Love Of My Life
2  Lost
3  Friends
4  Night After Night
5  Free My Mind
6  Give Me All Of Your Love
7  Lift Me Up
8  The One
9  Breakout
10  Madeleine
11  Take Me To Your Heart

debut album
out 07.08.20

pre-order link

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day