Atreyu have announced their ninth studio album ‘The Beautiful Dark Of Life’ will be out 8th December via Spinefarm. It’s the culmination of the band’s recent three-part EP series and the double LP is available in multiple colours on vinyl and CD to pre-order now and the album can be pre-saved on DSPs. Atreyu have just hit the road for a mammoth UK and European headline tour and they’ve also been announced on the 2024 line-up of the iconic Download Festival in the UK.

The 15-track ‘The Beautiful Dark Of Life’ journey includes music from ‘The Hope Of A Spark‘ – the feeling of being at the very bottom, ‘The Moment You Find Your Flame‘ – following the glimmer of hope, and ‘A Torch In The Dark‘ – finding yourself, and your purpose.

“‘The Beautiful Dark Of Life’ is the journey we are all on,” said frontman Brandon Saller. “It is the journey we have taken the audience on through the three EPs: the highs, lows, and lessons of life. And much like living through them, you don’t gain a full understanding of what it all means without the whole picture. This album is that picture.”

“We wanted each EP to have its own space to exist, for every song to find its audience and connect with people in its own right. But then when those songs are later collected together in the shape of the album, it will be an ‘A-ha!’ moment where we hope people will rediscover them in a new light, and find something in them all over again,” said bassist/vocalist, Porter McKnight.

The album features sonic numbers that touch every corner of the heavy music sphere – from metal to punk and alternative, via ’80s classic rock and with shades of industrial, hip-hop, and unashamed pop – speaking more than ever to a generation of music fans who care little for the traditional constraints of genre.

Through the expression of deeply personal feelings and emotions, the album is soul-baring and empathetic and offers escapism, and empowerment through songs that speak openly about anxiety, depression, self-belief, love, and identity that includes three new songs – ‘Dancing With My Demons,’ ‘Insomnia’ and the title track.

“I was walking with my young daughter one day when we went under a bridge,” said Saller. “She pointed at something and said, ‘Daddy, what’s that?’ I told her, ‘That’s a shadow, honey.’ And she turned to me and said, ‘Shadows are the beautiful dark of life,'” in discussing the album title.

“These songs are the culmination of our entire artistic endeavors,” McKnight attests. “It’s everything we’ve learned as humans, everything we’ve ingested as musicians and everything we’ve experienced in this lifetime. It is ATREYU unleashed.”




12 – Dublin, Academy

13 – Belfast, Limelight 2

15 – Glasgow, Garage

16 – Nottingham, Rock City *upgraded*

18 – Wolverhampton, KK’s Steel Mill

19 – Manchester, Academy 2 *sold out*

20 – Bristol, SWX *upgraded*

22 – London, Electric Ballroom

23 – Brighton, Chalk
25 – Berlin, Hole 44

26 – Prague, Rock Café

27 – Vienna, Szene

28 – Munich, Backstage Werk *upgraded*

29 – Zurich, Dynamo


01 – Madrid, Mon Live

02 – Barcelona, Apolo 2

04 – Paris, Backstage Btm

05 – Munster, Skaters Palace

06 – Antwerp, Zappa

07 – Utrecht, Tivoli

09 – Cologne, Kantine

10 – Hamburg, Knust *sold out*

11 – Copenhagen, Pumpehuset

12 – Oslo, John Dee

13 – Stockholm, Klubben

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day