Blues music veteran and living legend, who has performed and written songs with B.B. King, Quincy Jones, Bonnie Raitt and many others, returns to center stage with an undeniable, brilliant new studio album that shows he’s not ready to hang up his guitar just yet! Kick Up Some Dust finds the longtime blues guitarist/vocalist reflecting on his life, his loves and the fire that has pushed him to continue to make new music and perform for audiences even well into the 6th decade of his career!

Helping to bring the new album to life is a stellar cast of writers and backing musicians including Harry Garfield who has written songs for Michael McDonald and Airplay, keyboardist Hense Powell (Lamont Dozier, Bobby Womack), backing vocalists The Waters Sisters (Neil Diamond, Adele, Michael Jackson), bassist Freddie Washington (Herbie Hancock, Al Jarreau), and drummers James Gadson (Bill Withers, Paul McCartney) and Greg Brown (Thelma Houston, Bobby Womack). Check out the first song to be released from the album, the plaintive and soulful mid-tempo number “Starving For Your Love.”

Stream/download the single:

Adams shared his thoughts about the album saying “It was a lot of fun making this record with my friends that I’ve known for years. The idea I had in mind when I started was to just be myself. Sam Cooke, who I worked with back in 1961, used to say that he used observation to create songs, and so I used conversations with people as a source of inspiration for the song titles like ‘It Makes Me Mad,’ ‘I Love You More’ and ‘Fly With Me To Paradise.’ I was also thinking of artists such as Otis Redding, B.B. King, Albert King, and Little Willie John.”

Blues fans should also be on the lookout for Adams performing live with B.B. King’s daughter, the wonderful Shirley King, later this year where the two will pay tribute to the late blues icon as well as share intimate stories from their own personal interactions with B.B.

Kick Up Some Dust is set to be released on CD and digital February 24!

Pre-order the CD:

Pre-order/pre-save the Digital:

Track List:
1. It Makes Me Mad
2. Starving For Your Love
3. Hold On To Me
4. Fly With Me To Paradise
5. Kick Up Some Dust
6. I Love You More
7. University Of Hard Knocks
8. Done Got Over You
9. Cool As A Cucumber
10. Thieves Of Love
11. A Bag Of Soul

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day