Another Discovery


Mike Oldfield gives his 1980s album (not that one) a dust off

Originally released in June 1984, the UK Top 20 album, Discovery features two songs, which Oldfield would later include on the albumTwo Sides (his career ‘best of’), The Lake, an expansive instrumental reflection on Lake Geneva and To France, a classic folk-pop ballad that featured Maggie Reilly on vocals.

Now newly remastered and also presenting B-sides from the era, this superb new edition of Discovery is presented in a 3-disc CD/DVD Deluxe Edition and includes The 1984 Suite, a 38-minute piece, which gathers together tracks from Discovery and from The Killing Fieldsalongside rarities and a newly-voiced version of Poison Arrows, which has been re-named Zombies (Halloween Special). The Deluxe Edition features Oldfield’s 5.1 mix of The 1984 Suite on DVD, alongside three in-era promo videos. Appropriately, Mike premiered the lyric video forthis new track via his own website and Facebook page on Halloween (Saturday 31st October). Discovery is also being released on newly remastered 1CD, 180gm vinyl, digital and true HD editions.

Pre order here for a limited edition print and special price for all 3 vinyl:


Original Album Remastered

1. To France
2. Poison Arrows
3. Crystal Gazing
4. Tricks of the light
5. Discovery
6. Talk About Your Life
7. Saved By a Bell
8. The Lake

Bonus tracks

1. To France (extended version)*
2. In the Pool*
3. Bones*
4. Afghan**
5. Tricks of the Light (instrumental)**
*    Taken from the “To France” 12-inch single
**   B-side of the “Tricks of the Light” 12-inch EP


1. The 1984 Suite (To France / The Lake / The Killing Fields (Main theme) /  Etude / The Royal Mile (Re-discovered track) /  Zombies (Halloween Special ) / Discovery


The 1984 Suite (To France / The Lake / The Killing Fields (Main theme) /  Etude / The Royal Mile (Re-discovered track) /  Zombies (Halloween Special ) / Discovery

5.1 Surround Sound Mix by Mike Oldfield
Stereo Mix by Mike Oldfield

Promotional videos

To France
Tricks of the Light

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day