Andrew Combs’ beguiling new single “Anna Please” is out today.


Accompanied by a beautifully dark video directed by Austin Leih and starring Claire Canada & Kristin Combs, ‘Anna Please’ is the third single to be released from Andrew’s new album ‘Sundays’, out 19th August. 

Speaking about the new single and video Andrew Combs says: 

“This tune is written from a dying woman’s point of view. It is an ode to her caretaker, who seems to have more compassion for her than the rest of her kin do. It was inspired by Ingmar Bergman’s film Cries and Whispers, and the video by Austin Leih is an homage to the Swedish filmmaker.” 

The new video is premiering now at Brooklyn Vegan, check it out here.

The track is taken from upcoming album ‘Sundays’, which will be released on 19th August on black vinyl LP, CD and digitally, pre-order here –

Recorded entirely in mono, the album was collaboratively produced by Combs and Jordan Lehning (Kacey Musgraves, Lucie Silvas, Willie Nelson) with additional arrangements from Dominic Billett (Julia Jacklin, Rhiannon Giddens). Combs has shared the singles “(God)less” and now “Anna Please“.

Written on the heels of a mental breakdown Combs had at Christmas of 2020—amid the long, monotonous grind of an ongoing global pandemic— ‘Sundays’ came together in Nashville in early 2021. In the wake of this debilitating psychological break, Combs turned to the practice of transcendental meditation to find balance and to — in the words of director David Lynch — “catch the big fish.” Alongside his collaborators Lehning and Billet, Combs would go into the studio every Sunday, the goal being to capture a song he had penned the previous week as he plumbed the depths of his own heart and mind. They recorded the album in mono, utilizing just one microphone opposed to the multi-channel stereo recording method.

The minimal approach on Combs’ newest record lies in stark contrast to the maximalist production of some of his earlier work including 2015’s ‘All These Dreams’, which received extensive praise from NPRAmerican Songwriter, and 2019’s ‘Ideal Man’, which impressed the likes of Rolling Stone and No Depression. Going away from the more traditional roots arrangements on his previous work, ‘Sundays’ leans away from the more linear Americana-inflected instrumentation and structure and into darker and more sparse territory. Instead of lush strings, longing pedal steel and fingerpicked acoustic guitar, the listener encounters a lonely, thumb-strummed electric colored by brooding woodwinds.t the center of ‘Sundays’ is a pervasive sense of quiet hope, and a recognition of an inherent balance that’s possible. 

Sundays‘ by Andrew Combs will be released 19 August, via the Loose label. The album will be followed by a UK Tour – with full dates listed as below. 


Andrew Combs – UK Tour Dates 2022

26-08-2022 – Hassocks, UK – Mid Sussex Americana Festival
27-08-2022 – Lutterworth, UK – The Long Road Festival
28-08-2022 – Newcastle – UK, The Cluny
30-08-2022 – Biddulph, UK – St Lawrence’s Church
31-08-2022 – London, UK – The Grace 
01-09-2022 – Nottingham, UK, The Chapel at the Angel Microbrewery

‘Sundays’ Tracklist:
1. (God)less
2. Anna Please
3. Mark Of The Man
4. Still Water
5. The Ship
6. Truth And Love
7. Adeline
8. Down Among The Dead
9. Drivel To A Dream
10. I See Me
11. Shall We Go