Today, singer / songwriter / feminist / author Ani DiFranco releases “You Forgot to Speak” from her 23rd album, Unprecedented Sh!t, out July 12th on DiFranco’s label Righteous Babe Records. “You Forgot to Speak” delves into the complexities of gender dynamics and the internalised oppression that can manifest in women within patriarchal societies. Listen to “You Forgot to Speak” HERE and via DSPs HERE. Pre-order Unprecedented Sh!t HERE.

Produced by BJ Burton (Bon Iver), Unprecedented Sh!t pushes boundaries both musically and thematically. The songs touch on a range of topics, from global crises to personal struggles, with a critical eye toward the current state of affairs. Sonically, DiFranco and Burton explored new textures and possibilities, resulting in a sound that is both raw and refined, intimate yet expansive.

DiFranco is currently starring as ‘Persephone’ in the Tony and Grammy Award-winning Best Musical, Hadestown. DiFranco’s history with Hadestown began in 2010 when she invited Anais Mitchell to release the original studio album of Hadestown on Righteous Babe Records. DiFranco originated the role of ‘Persephone’ on the album, leaving an enduring impression on the character as the show evolved over the course of several years.

 A new documentary on DiFranco’s rise entitled 1-800-ON-HER-OWN will premiere at the Tribeca Film Festival in June. The film is a vulnerable look at her life today, as she struggles to balance artistry with the demands of family.

DiFranco is also a published author. Her memoir No Walls and the Recurring Dream was a New York Times Top 10 best seller in 2019, and her debut children’s book The Knowing is out now. Her next children’s book Show Up and Vote is due in August of 2024.

Widely considered a feminist icon, Grammy winner Ani DiFranco is the mother of the DIY movement, being one of the first artists to create her own record label, Righteous Babe Records, in 1990. She has released 22 albums, traversing folk, punk, hip-hop, soul and electronic genres and addressing a range of autobiographical, political and social issues. Her most recent album is the June 2023 25th Anniversary Edition reissue of her seminal effort Little Plastic Castle

Unprecedented Sh!t tracklisting:
1 – Spinning Room
2 – Virus
3 – More or Less Free
4 – Baby Roe
5 – Unprecedented Sh!t
6 – New Bible
7 – Boots of a Soldier
8 – You Forgot to Speak
9 – The Thing at Hand
10 – Interlude
11 – The Knowing

Follow Ani DiFranco:
Righteous Babe

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day