Old-school death metal fans, the wait has come to an end: STRIGOI unleash their debut album Abandon All Faith, today via Nuclear Blast. To celebrate, the band has premiered the official music video for new track ‘Carved Into The Skin’, which marks Greg Mackintosh’s first music video appearance in roughly 5 years. The video was produced by the band themselves and filmed by Danny Biggin, Json Adriani and Jake Mackintosh, with the latter also taking care of editing duties. Watch now: youtu.be/2FAwZKQbJnE

Greg comments, “This, the grimmest track on the album is about depression, despair and self harm. Musical asphyxiation.”

Bassist Chris Casket states, “The production of the video was totally DIY including the ‘practical effects’ and filmed in studio and on location in Yorkshire, Suffolk and Milan. Initially, we wanted to gather background footage for a lyric video, but these sessions quickly escalated into a full video production, and the end result is a combination of performance, eerie locations, creeping insects and self mutilation.”

Order Abandon All Faith now: nblast.de/Strigoi-AbandonFaith
With an approach that was as nihilistic and crusty as it was cinematically grand, Paradise Lost’s Greg Mackintosh teamed up with former EXTREME NOISE TERROR and Vallenfyre bassist Chris Casket to record a truly bonecrushing beast of old-school death metal.

Watch and listen to the vicious track ‘Nocturnal Vermin’ here: youtu.be/4BEsKqx8xIIThe 12-song-debut was recorded and mixed at Greg’s Black Planet Studio between January and March 2019. The English duo announced the album alongside their haunting first single, ‘Phantoms’. Watch the official video for ‘Phantoms‘: youtu.be/4ZGsNENJyW4

Named after the troubled spirits in Romanian mythology who could rise from the grave and assume an entirely different form, STRIGOI‘s bassist Chris Casket was also tasked with writing the lyrics for the new project. Mackintosh gave him simple thematic guidelines: attack organized religion, sparingly discuss grief and dive into the countless horrible things that humanity continues to inflict upon itself.

The debut album will be available on jewelcase CD, black vinyl in gatefold and digitally – full tracklist below:

01. The Rising Horde
02. Phantoms
03. Nocturnal Vermin
04. Seven Crowns
05. Throne Of Disgrace
06. Carved Into The Skin
07. Parasite
08. Iniquitous Rage
09. Plague Nation
10. Enemies Of God
11. Scorn Of The Father
12. Abandon All Faith

Watch as Greg and Chris discuss how the band came into being after disbanding VALLENFYRE, and how they collaborated on the music and lyrics during the songwriting process: youtu.be/p_VnXIYeQMQ
Watch the second part of the album trailer series, in which the guys talk about the production and lyrics of the record: youtu.be/nIeSjyn6WfY
Greg and Chris speak about the new record’s artwork and their touring plans. Watch now: youtu.be/HwUYzNuv_4o
Watch Chris talk about the lyrical themes of the first half of the album and hear some snippets of the new tracks, here: youtu.be/gXmgsgGKL0w
Chris details the inspirations for the second half of the group’s foreboding record. Watch the trailer here: youtu.be/3YpnXpcYE0s

Visit STRIGOI online: