A Cast Of Thousands (sort of) Join Tourniquet On New Record


Ted Fitzpatrick must have plenty of famous mates judging by the guestlist here

According to the man behind it, Onward to Freedom is a metal anthem for the voiceless.

Twelve songs written by Tourniquet drummer and songwriter Ted Kirkpatrick that tackle a subject of great importance to him and countless others: animal cruelty and injustice.

The world has awakened to this important issue and in that spirit, Onward to Freedom is a truly groundbreaking album – captivating, musically powerful, and lyrically moving.

Ted is joined by an impressive array of guest artists on Onward to Freedom. The title track (released as a lyric video on October 1, 2014) features Michael Sweet (Stryper) on vocals and lead guitar, and Mattie Montgomery (For Today) on vocals. Other guests include guitarists Marty Friedman, Chris Poland, Bruce Franklin (Trouble), Tony Palacios (Guardian), Rex Carroll (Whitecross), and Aaron Guerra (Tourniquet).

Guest vocalists include Dug Pinnick (King’s X, KXM), Gabbie Rae, Kevin Young (Disciple), Blake Suddath (Your Memorial), Nick Villars (Sleep Star Ignition), and Luke Easter (Tourniquet), plus powerful narrations by seven time Emmy Award winning actor Ed Asner and Disney Channel star Ashley Argota.

The album features high-quality production – mixed and mastered by ace producer Josh Schroeder (King 810, In Heart’s Wake) and was released on Tourniquet’s own label, Pathogenic Records, at the back end of last year.

Lineup: Ted Kirkpatrick – drums, bass, keyboards, all guitars except guest guitar solos as noted in track list

Guest vocals: Michael Sweet (Stryper), Dug Pinnick (King’s X, KXM), Mattie Montgomery (For Today), Gabbie Rae, Kevin Young (Disciple), Blake Suddath (Your Memorial), Nick Villars (Sleep Star Ignition), Luke Easter (Tourniquet)

Guest lead guitars: Marty Friedman, Chris Poland, Michael Sweet (Stryper), Bruce Franklin (Trouble), Rex Carroll (Whitecross), Tony Palacios (Guardian), Aaron Guerra (Tourniquet)

Guest narrations: Ed Asner (legendary Hollywood actor and seven time Emmy Award winner), Ashley Argota (Disney Channel TV star)

Mixed/mastered by Josh Schroeder (King 810, In Heart’s Wake)


2. ONWARD TO FREEDOM – featuring Michael Sweet and Mattie Montgomery
3. THE SLAVE RING – featuring Mattie Montgomery, Nick Villars, and Chris Poland
4. THE NOBLE CASE FOR MERCY – featuring Ed Asner
5. LET THE WILD JUST BE WILD – featuring Gabbie Rae, Nick Villars, and Rex Carroll
6. NO SOUL – featuring Dug Pinnick and Bruce Franklin
7. IF I HAD TO DO THE KILLING – featuring Kevin Young and Aaron Guerra
9. STEREOTAXIC ATROCITIES – featuring Luke Easter and Marty Friedman
11. DROWNING IN AIR – featuring Blake Suddath, Nick Villars, and Tony Palacios
12. CAGE 23 – featuring Gabbie Rae and Ashley Argota

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Tourniquet/56372703466
WEBSITE: http://www.tourniquet.net/index.html
BUY: https://tourniquet.bandcamp.com/album/onward-to-freedom

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day